5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2014 6:41 AM by Jim Wilson

Parallelism not being inforced

Tom Rosenkranz

Hi all,

Has anyone encountered an issue with parallelism settings not being enforced? I have a customer that is using parallelism but reports that even though he specifies the numbers of targets to process in parallel the job gets executed as if "Unlimited" were being selected.

This is on BSA 7.6. I've asked him for the App Server settings related to parallelism, which you can see below.

I am just learning about BSA and admit that I don't quite grasp the various settings. I don't know yet what how many targets he has it set to, but from what I have read it seems to be limited to 10. I got this tidbit from "Managing the Application Server". "All BMC Server Automation jobs let you specify how many targets to process in parallel. You can set a value from 1 to 10 or allow an unlimited number of targets to be processed in parallel." Does that imply one shouldn't set it higher than 10?

I would appreciate any help with understanding this further.

• 1. Re: Parallelism not being inforced
          Bill Robinson

there are a few parallelism settings here to think about.

in blasadmin the 'maxworkitemthreads' settings determines how many targets an appserver will be able to target in parallel for any job that might be running in the system.  the 'globaldefaultjobprallelism' just sets the default value of parallelism on the job level.

what you didn't include here is what the paralleism setting was set to on the particular job the customer was trying to run.  can you see what that is set to ?  in this case a setting > 50 is effectively the same as unlimited, assuming a single appserver environment, since 50 is the maxworkitemthread setting and the max number of targets the appserver can hit at any given time.

also, what kind of job is this and what specific build of 7.6? (eg )

• 2. Re: Parallelism not being inforced
            Tom Rosenkranz