5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2013 3:53 PM by Bill Robinson

Retrieving Hardware information Pre-OS Install

Ryan Baker

I'm interested in hearing how everyone is managing their devices with BSA as far as onboarding new devices to be provisioned.

I'm relatively new to BSA, but so far the only way I've really seen to on-board devices is by adding them with their MAC Address (either by GUI or CLI).  I understand that it is possible to have the MAC automatically added when the device boots, but I haven't had much luck with that yet.

The real problem for us is retrieving the MAC Address as we have a variety of different hardware, so writing out-of-band workflows to retrieve those are going to be painful.  Is anyone having a pre-boot image automatically fill out attributes on the provisioning object?  Serial Number is the one I am primarily interested in, but I would really like attributes such as CPU/HD/Memory as well.

There are a few open sources tools that do parts of this, but not everything (or well).  I'd rather not recreate the wheel if I don't have to

• 1. Re: Retrieving Hardware information Pre-OS Install
          Sean Berry

If the to-be-provisioned box successfully talks to a PXE server, the MAC address should show up as a to-be-provisioned device.

Once it boots into the WinPE or Gentoo image, the hardware make and model etc should be being sent to BSA (and visible in the details of the Device).

• 2. Re: Retrieving Hardware information Pre-OS Install
            Ryan Baker

Thanks Sean.  I'm not seeing this happening in my environment, but I could have something configured wrong.

I see the details are, RAM, CPU Count/Speed/Family, Make/Model.  Are there any options to add additional data (I'm inerested in Serial Number and Disk information for)?  Is this handled by the bmi that is injected in to the gentoo image?

• 3. Re: Retrieving Hardware information Pre-OS Install
              Newton Nyante