1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2013 10:31 AM by Joe Piotrowski

Compliance Exception

Dear Folks,

I am a newbie on this area. Please help the following..

It is an example:-

There have a server has applied the exception on Automatic Update of Windows Service. The start type of this service should be Automatic and keep running. However, on our general compliance policy, this service should be disabled and stopped.

How to define the specific value on exception in the compliance template?

Our Bladelogic Server Automation version is

Thank you very much..

• 1. Re: Compliance Exception
          Joe Piotrowski

When you create a Component Template, make sure you have the Compliance option selected. Select Deploy and/or Allow Remediation if you wish to add a remediation package.

Once your Component Template is created you have to add that service as a Part. Under the Parts tab select the green arrow to add a Part, and live browse a Windows server, expand Services and select the Windows Update service.

Then select the Compliance tab. Create a new Rule. In the General tab give the Rule a Name. Select the Rule Definition tab. Press the green arrow to create a new condition. Hit the down arrow in the first box, you will see your part "Windows Service:Windows Update." Select the arrow to the left of the name to expand the properties and value you can use for your compliance conditions. For your use case select "Start Type (Windows)." Leave the equals condition. Select the down arrow in the next box and select "DISABLED." In the next box select the AND option. Hit the green check to save the condition. Repeat this process on the next line for "State (Windows)" equals "STOPPED." Your logic should look like this:

"Windows Service:Windows Update"."Start Type (Windows)" equals "DISABLED" AND

"Windows Service:Windows Update"."State (Windows)" equals "STOPPED"