I guess this is extension to the other post:
- Commit All Applied
This happens prior to Deploying patches:
When you run a deploy job, if there are any patches that are in 'apply' state, the deploy of new patches cannot happen. If you chose to 'Commit all Applied', then prior to installing the patches, the Deploy Job will 'Commit' all the 'applied' patches. If you chose 'None', and there are some "applied" patches present, then Deploy Job will fail.
- Apply and Commit
- Apply Only
This happens after patches have been deployed:
When the patch is installed, it's set to 'Applied" mode. If you chose to "Apply and Commit", then these patches will be "Committed" right away.
- Preview Only
This one is dryrun phase. Patches are not actually installed, but you will see if there are any potential errors.