14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2012 12:14 AM by Krithesh NameToUpdate

    Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted

      Hi. I am using BL provisioning to provision win 2008 R2 64 bit os on a vm on ESX server. Everything works fine except that the process gets stuck at the screen where I need to mention the OS edition i,e., Standard or Enterprise Full etc. I have mentioned the enterprise edition in the SP. Still it asks for manual intervention. Isnt it supposed to be unattended installation?

      How do I resolve this? Thanks in advance

        • 1. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted
          Rupali Deshmukh

          Are you using a Custom Unattend.xml? If so, make sure that the OS Edition 'Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISE' is present in two places as expected in the Unattend.xml that you use.

           

          1. MetaData tag - Under pass="windowsPE" - "Microsoft-Windows-Setup" - <ImageInstall>...<InstallFrom>
              <MetaData>
                  <Key>/image/name</Key>
                  <Value>Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISE</Value>
              </MetaData>

           

          2. Image source tag, which is last 2nd tag by end of Unattend.xml
            <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:K:\Windows\W2K8x64R2\sources\install.wim#Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISE" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
          </unattend>  

          • 2. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted

            Thank you for the reply. But I am not using custom .xml.

            • 3. Re: Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted
              Bill Robinson

              What version of Windows are you using – w/ hyper-v or w/o ?

              • 4. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted

                I am using Windows server  2008 R2 64 bit. Trying to provision it on a virtual machine running on ESX server. Does this answer your question?

                • 5. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted
                  Rupali Deshmukh

                  What Bill asked is, have you selected Hyper-V role in your R2 System Package or not?

                   

                  Also, make sure if you are specifying any License Key in the System Package for R2, it should be a valid KMS License Key for Enterprise Edition. Though, if it was invalid it would have prompted fro License Key during install, not OS edition as you mentioned. Can you attach your Unattend.xml?

                  • 6. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted

                    Ok. Thanks. I have not selected any of the roles. Is anything to be selected?

                    I am using the evaluation version of windows. So I dint enter any license key.

                     

                    Below is the xml.

                     

                    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

                    <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">

                        <settings pass="windowsPE">

                            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State">

                                <ImageInstall>

                                    <OSImage>

                                        <WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>

                                        <InstallTo>

                                            <DiskID>0</DiskID>

                                            <PartitionID>1</PartitionID>

                                        </InstallTo>

                                        <InstallFrom>

                                            <Path>K:\Win2008_ISO\Sources\install.wim</Path>

                                            <MetaData>

                                                <Key>/image/name</Key>

                                                <Value>Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISE</Value>

                                            </MetaData>

                                        </InstallFrom>

                                    </OSImage>

                                </ImageInstall>

                                <UpgradeData>

                                    <Upgrade>false</Upgrade>

                                </UpgradeData>

                                <Display>

                                    <ColorDepth>16</ColorDepth>

                                    <HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>

                                    <RefreshRate>60</RefreshRate>

                                    <VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>

                                </Display>

                                <ComplianceCheck>

                                    <DisplayReport>OnError</DisplayReport>

                                </ComplianceCheck>

                                <UserData>

                                    <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>

                                </UserData>

                            </component>

                            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

                                <SetupUILanguage>

                                    <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>

                                </SetupUILanguage>

                                <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>

                                <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>

                                <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>

                                <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>

                            </component>

                        </settings>

                        <settings pass="specialize">

                            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State">

                                <ComputerName>prov2008</ComputerName>

                                <RegisteredOrganization>tcs</RegisteredOrganization>

                                <RegisteredOwner>abc</RegisteredOwner>

                                <DoNotCleanTaskBar>true</DoNotCleanTaskBar>

                                <ShowWindowsLive>false</ShowWindowsLive>

                                <BluetoothTaskbarIconEnabled>false</BluetoothTaskbarIconEnabled>

                                <CopyProfile>false</CopyProfile>

                                <DisableAutoDaylightTimeSet>true</DisableAutoDaylightTimeSet>

                                <StartPanelOff>false</StartPanelOff>

                            </component>

                             <component name="Microsoft-Windows-UnattendedJoin" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

                            <Identification>

                                <JoinWorkgroup></JoinWorkgroup>

                                <UnsecureJoin>false</UnsecureJoin>

                                <DebugJoin>false</DebugJoin>

                            </Identification>

                        </component>

                            <component name="Networking-MPSSVC-Svc" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

                               <FirewallGroups />

                               <DomainProfile_EnableFirewall>false</DomainProfile_EnableFirewall>

                               <PrivateProfile_EnableFirewall>false</PrivateProfile_EnableFirewall>

                               <PublicProfile_EnableFirewall>false</PublicProfile_EnableFirewall>

                               <PrivateProfile_DisableNotifications>true</PrivateProfile_DisableNotifications>

                            </component>

                      

                     

                        </settings>

                        <settings pass="oobeSystem">

                            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State">

                                <UserAccounts>

                                    <AdministratorPassword>

                                        <Value>PROV_WIN_ADMIN_PASSWORD</Value>

                                        <PlainText>true</PlainText>

                                    </AdministratorPassword>

                                </UserAccounts>

                                <AutoLogon>

                                    <Enabled>true</Enabled>

                                    <Username>Administrator</Username>

                                    <Password>

                                        <Value>PROV_WIN_ADMIN_PASSWORD</Value>

                                        <PlainText>true</PlainText>

                                    </Password>

                                    <LogonCount>3</LogonCount>

                                </AutoLogon>

                                <Display>

                                    <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>

                                    <HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>

                                    <RefreshRate>60</RefreshRate>

                                    <VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>

                                </Display>

                                <FirstLogonCommands>

                                    <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">

                                        <CommandLine>c:\BLProv\wrapper.bat</CommandLine>

                                        <Description>Lite Touch new OS</Description>

                                        <Order>1</Order>

                                    </SynchronousCommand>

                                </FirstLogonCommands>           

                                <OOBE>

                                    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>

                                    <NetworkLocation>Other</NetworkLocation>

                                    <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>

                                    <SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>

                                    <SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>

                                </OOBE>

                                <RegisteredOrganization>tcs</RegisteredOrganization>

                                <RegisteredOwner>abc</RegisteredOwner>

                                <TimeZone>Dateline Standard Time</TimeZone>        

                            </component>

                            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

                                <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>

                                <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>

                                <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>

                                <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>

                            </component>

                        </settings>

                        <settings pass="offlineServicing">

                            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpCustomizationsNonWinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">

                                <DriverPaths>

                                    <PathAndCredentials wcm:keyValue="1" wcm:action="add">

                                        <Path>C:\Drivers</Path>

                                    </PathAndCredentials>

                                    <PathAndCredentials wcm:keyValue="2" wcm:action="add">

                                        <Path>X:\Drivers</Path>

                                    </PathAndCredentials>

                                </DriverPaths>

                            </component>

                        </settings>

                      <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:K:\Win2008_ISO\sources\install.wim#Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISE" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />

                    </unattend>

                    • 7. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted
                      Rupali Deshmukh

                      No role selection is not mandatory. The reason for asking probably was, Hyper-V role is not supported on a VM. Don't see any problem as such for OS Edition in the Unattend.xml.

                       

                      One thing I am noticing is the R2 installer path that you have used for this System Package Type. From the name it suggests it is Win2008 installer (K:\Win2008_ISO\sources\install.wim) and not R2 installer used. Are you sure you are pointing to right R2 installer? Folder name can be anything, but I am just asking since I don't see any other issue that may cause this problem.

                      • 8. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted

                        Oh.. Yes it is the right folder. And only in that particular step,it waits to select the edition. After thet the installation continues including RSCD and batch job execution.

                         

                        Thanks Anyways.

                        • 9. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted
                          Bill Robinson

                          i think the problem is here:

                                                    <Value>Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISE</Value>

                           

                          that is the hyper-v version of Server Enterprise.

                           

                          the non-hyper-v version is

                                                    <Value>Windows Server 2008 R2 SERVERENTERPRISEV</Value>

                          (or something like that) 

                          yes - the non-hyper-V has 'v' in it and the hyper-v version does not have 'V'

                           

                          i think you have a mismatch between what's the in the system package and your os media.

                           

                          what version of bbsa is this?

                          do you know what version of the os media you have?

                          • 10. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted

                            Its bladelogic 8.1 and the OS version is Win 2008 R2 64 bit evaluation version. So shhould I chech the hyper v role in the SP and try? Will that work?

                            • 11. Re: Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted
                              Bill Robinson

                              there are some image files in the install directory or something like that on the dvd - do those match what name is in the system package?

                              1 of 1 people found this helpful
                              • 12. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted

                                Ok. I think I found the problem.Thanks a lot. The image files inside the 'sources' directory are not matching with SP. Its not an R2 installer. its just windows 2008 evaluation version. But in the SP for 2008 ,it says license key is compulsory. So I cannot install 2008 evaluation version is it? It allows evaluation version only for R2.

                                • 13. Re: Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted
                                  Bill Robinson

                                  so do you have the ‘full’ (non-eval) R2 media in place?

                                  • 14. Windows 2008 R2 provisioning gets interrupted

                                    No I dont have. I will try it once I get it. Thanks a lot.