5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2011 5:16 PM by Bill Robinson

BLCLI - ServerGroup setDescription issue

I am working on a script to update some ServerSmartGroup descriptions and the ServerGroup setDescription command is throwing an exception:

Command execution failed. java.lang.UnsupportedOperationException: immutable.  This seems strange to have a setDescription command if it can't change the description, so I think I am missing something here.

Does anyone know if there is a trick to using this command?  It is a released command, but this is my first time using it.  I'm using an 8.1 application server on Solaris 10 with an Oracle DB.

I found another post with instructions on updating a Server's description through an undocumented method, which I tweaked slightly to try and make it work for server groups, but it didn't work.

Here is how I am trying it now:

blcli_execute ServerGroup groupNameToId "<full patch to group>"

blcli_storeenv GROUPID

blcli_execute ServerGroup setDescription $GROUPID "<new description>"

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Craig Ludlow

• 1. Re: BLCLI - ServerGroup setDescription issue
          Bill Robinson

Does the role you are running this as have permissions to modify the group object?

What if you try:

Blcli_execute ServerGroup groupNameToId $group

Blcli_storeenv groupId

Blcli_execute Group findById $groupId

blcli_execute Group setDescription “Description”

Blcli_execute Group update

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: BLCLI - ServerGroup setDescription issue

I get the same error on the setDescription command.  Here is the ouptut:

appserver% blcli_execute ServerGroup groupNameToId "/List"

2117152appserver% blcli_storeenv GROUPID

appserver% blcli_execute Group findById $GROUPID

appserver% blcli_execute Group setDescription "New Description"

Command execution failed. java.lang.UnsupportedOperationException: immutable

appserver% blcli_execute Group update