7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2011 10:12 AM by chris hall

bmi error on first attempt at provisioning

This is my first attempt at setting up provisioning so I'm probably just doing something dumb.  I have the pxe server/tftp server/dhcp server/datastore setup.  I pxe booted the server and it loads gentoo, configures eth0, and looks like it is trying to run the bmi command but it fails.  It's missing the libblssl.so.0.9.8 file.  I have bmilinux.tar in the datastore root and that contains the library that is needed.  I've been looking around in the gentoo system to try and figure out if its supposed to grab that file from the datastore or what.  I see in the system wide bashrc that its running /opt/Bladelogic/setup.sh then the bmi command.  But I don't see anywhere that its trying to get that tar file.  Are there any logs on the gentoo system that might help?  Any help is appreciated.

screenshot.jpg

• 1. Re: bmi error on first attempt at provisioning
          Bill Robinson

The bmilinux.tar isn’t used till after the prov job runs (which you haven’t started afaict)

What version of blade, what version of the prov files, and what version/arch of Gentoo?

• 2. bmi error on first attempt at provisioning

That's correct I haven't started a prov job.  Just trying out the pxe setup.

Blade version is 8.0.6.622, the prov files were downloaded before the upgrade to sp6 I'm not sure of the version,  the gentoo images were created using the install-x86-minimal-2007.0-r1.iso.

That's a good point, if the provisioning files have been updated I may need to recreate these images.  I will try that.

• 3. bmi error on first attempt at provisioning

Ok, I think I see the problem.  When creating the 32 bit image I get no errors, when creating the 64 I am seeing this: