6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2011 3:56 PM by Chris Alliey

Help with NSH script

I'm new to the NSH scripting, so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. 

I'm looking to write a script that can run on the application server, and pull information from the application server database.

I'm specifically looking to have a script run on the application server that pulls the IP address from a server in the DB.

I know when BMI runs after provisioning a system, the IP address (as well as MAC and other information) is pushed to the

application server from the client.  That information gets stored in the DB, is there a way to pull that information or set it as a variable in a script?

Is something like this possible? 

Thanks in advance! 

• 1. Help with NSH script
          Vinnie Lima

Hey Chris,

You probably should use NSH to call a blcli command on the app server.  AFAIK, the only way to extract data from the Bladelogic DB about a system is through blcli commands.

blcli is kinda dopey in a way that you have to pass credentials, but it has a plethora of functions which extract exactly what you are looking for.

Look at the lab system you have tehre, in the 7.6 Bladelogic system, under /opt/bmc/bcas/storage/extended_objects folder, there is an NSH script I used for SNMP compliance push/pull.  there is a sample BLCLI which gets an Attribute from a device class.

There might be alternate ways in 8.0 (which I think is what you are using now?) but I do not know of them yet.

I'll be there later this afternoon and can point you in the right direction if you still need help.

Take care

Vinnie Lima

• 2. Help with NSH script
            Steve Bradshaw

Hi Chris,

I have used the following to pull the IP address from Bladelogic

You will need to have some way of authenticating with the server, and if you have multiple roles you may have to specify a role.

Hope this helps,

if test $# -ne 1

echo "usage: $0 <target hostname>"

exit 1