1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2018 5:43 AM by Attachment Scanner

Problem Installing/Configuring Java FilterAPI Plug-ins

Joel Dunham

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to Remedy and new to this forum.

I'm having a real problem installing/configuring my test FilterAPI plugin.

I have a very very simple test plugin written - I wanted a way to make sure I knew how to install/configure(and therefore test) the plugin before I started working on the rest of my solution - which essentially just logs a message to say that it was called. I've attached the .java file.

I'm running my test AR System environment in a Windows Server 2003 VM.

When the BMC Remedy AR service comes up, it must be calling my plugin's "init()" method as I can see the log in the arjavaplugin.log file:
      2008-03-17 13:41:43,328 FATAL com.bmc.arsys.pluginsvr.plugins.ARPluginContext (?:?) - <JOEL-FILTER>Static Initialize method invoked for JOEL'S EVENT EXPORT FILTER PLUGIN... (log)

BUT

When I try to build a filter around this plugin it doesn't show up in the "Plug-in Name" drop-down. If I write my filter name in the box and build the filter that way, the filter runs but it doesn't seem to actually cal lmy code.  (I know it runs because my post-filter field assignment seems to work fine and it shows up in the arfilter.log:

/* Mon Mar 17 2008 13:30:44.0150 */     Checking "JOEL:remedy-event" (500)
      >    --> Passed -- perform actions
      >         0: Log
      >         1: Set Fields
      >               Submitter (2) = JOEL

)

So I have no idea what's wrong but I suspect that the Remedy server is not finding my plugin. Maybe not finding the plugin server at all.

I've attached my ar.cfg file and my pluginsvr_cfg.xml files for illustration but to the best of my knowledge I've done everything the way the documentation said to do it.

Any help or insight will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

-Joel

• 1. Re: Problem Installing/Configuring Java FilterAPI Plug-ins

Joel,