3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2020 4:18 PM by Jared Schwartz

Patch Tuesday

Jared Schwartz
      Share This:

Hello All,

I am new to patch management and wanted to know how you handle patch scheduling and setup.  It seems easy at the surface but the more I dig in the more it drives me crazy.

We don't have a huge amount of machines and are a smaller shop so less is more in our case.  Internally we have discussed 4 patch groups (3 for testing).

I was considering using a patch job to automate the first patch group, and then use a patch deployment for the remainder of the groups.

Here is where I am getting stuck:

1.  Patch Tuesday..  Management wants us to patch, job 1 the day after patch Tuesday to have them test the latest patches.  This is more complicated then it seems as I cannot for the life of me find a way to set the schedule for "the day after the 2nd Tuesday".  As such if I set the 3rd Wednesday, it can actually occur prior to the 2nd Tuesday due to what day the month starts on.

2.  Automation..  We want to patch the machines at 6pm, and run it again the next day to catch the machines that where turned off the night before (hit the machine until it is patched).  From what I can tell this is not possible with one patch job.  To get around this limitation I had to split the first patch job into two patch jobs (The day after Patch Tuesday and Two days after Patch Tuesday) and it looks like I have to manually adjust the dates of each every month that will clear the history? (Two total patch jobs)

I have not yet tested the Path Deployment for groups 2-4 but it looks like a similar problem.  Patch group 2-4 need to be staggered in time (or behind patch Tuesday) behind patch job 1 to avoid a problem if Microsoft drops a bad patch.  It looks like each patch group will require two patch groups to cover the day after if the machine is off (6 total patch groups)

How are you guys simplifying this or handling this?

Thanks,

J

• 1. Re: Patch Tuesday