7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2020 5:35 PM by Lisa Keeler

Trying to report Unix OS type discovered hosts

David Hicks
      Share This:

Hello,

I'm very new to DIscovery (only about 5 months thus far). However, I'm picking things up pretty decently.

Within my BMC Discovery 11.3.04 appliance server, there's a report section that is for Operating Systems > Unix Type Distribution.

When I run it, it's completely blank.

Yet, when I have setup a discovery schedule for SNMP devices and other network hosts, I came back with a list of what I could access, and of what I couldn't access. I looked at what I was not able to access and received a good report that had the following headers:

OS ClassEndpointHostnameDiscovered OSOS Type

OS Version

Received OS Type to include: GNU/Linux, OpenBSD/ FreeBSE, and etc. All under the "OS Class" of "UNIX".

Yet, when I ran the OOTB report for "Unix Type Distribution", it comes up completely blank.

Could someone please assist me in creating a query or a raw query, that will help me pull what already appears to be in the datastore?

Thank you,

David Hicks

davidhicks911@yahoo.com

• 1. Re: Trying to report Unix OS type discovered hosts
          Andrew Waters

Are you doing sweep scans rather than full discovery? If so that gives you basic information but does not build Host nodes. Sweep scans return very basic information missing many of the details retrieved by a full scan.

The first report you mention looks for the Host nodes.

I assume, though it is not very clear, that in the second case you are running a report from the DiscoveryRun which is looking at the sweep scan information returned.

You can do something like

SEARCH DiscoveryAccess

WHERE _last_marker

TRAVERSE DiscoveryAccess:DiscoveryAccessResult:DiscoveryResult:DeviceInfo

WHERE os_class = "UNIX"

SHOW

#DiscoveytResult:DiscoveryAccessResult:DiscoveryAccess:DiscoveryAccess.endpoint,

hostname,

os_class,

os

If you want a distribution then something like