6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2020 11:59 AM by Richard Rowe

Facilities Managment > Categories

Mary Remter
      Share This:

Hello,

Our organization is a non-profit that consists of 28 resale stores (donated items) throughout Wisconsin. We (HR, Facilities Management, and IT) are upgrading our Track-It! to the new 20.20 version and I'd like to redefine our categories.

In our current version we of course have Type >Sub-Type>Category, but I understand after we upgrade we will have a "Category Tree"

Does anyone have any advice or "lessons learned" about categories?  I tried to find previous threads.. but maybe I'm searching wrong.

Thanks in advance!

Mary

Message was edited by: Mary Remter UPDATE - found a bunch of great links, but still interested in advice if you have it!

• 1. Re: Facilities Managment > Categories
          Eric Liszt

Hi Mary,

Years ago I was an on-site consultant who would help folks like you set up these things.   I think the most important lesson learned across dozens of customers from tiny to huge are

1. Keep it Simple.
          2. Keep it Simple
          3. Keep it Simple
          4. Think about what reporting you really must have and then go back to #1.

So many customers felt that they needed far more detailed reporting than they actually ever used.  As such, they would be inclined to create category trees with too many layers and too much detail.   This resulted in it being complex for the technician to find the right category as the log/edit the case.  When this happens, the first thing is they end up wasting time.  The next thing is they get frustrated and bad-mouth the system, and then the finally just start entering the closest thing they can quickly find in the categorization structure (this is true of trees, lists, or other multi-category systems).   So keep it simple.  You can always add more detail as you need it.   Try to keep it to no more than 2-3 levels deep if at all possible.