5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 8, 2019 3:28 PM by Cris Coffey

Import configuration from file

Chris Webb
      Share This:

I'm currently building our new Trackit system in order to migrate off of 11.4 and we've decided to not import our existing configuration into the new system and instead build it out from scratch. However, one of our departments has over 400 sub-types and categories and I'd rather not have to type that out by hand. Is there a way to import specific configurations from CSV file or something similar?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Import configuration from file
          Eric Liszt

Hi Chris,

I suspect Cris Coffey or one of the other folks here will jump in to directly respond to your question shortly.  

While we are waiting, I'd like to ask if you've challenged the department regarding the need for so many sub-types.   The reason I ask this is that many years ago, I worked as a consultant that would go on site and help customers setup and move to their new helpdesk system.  In practically every engagement I ran into the same situation you are facing where there was a department that felt they absolutely needed a huge number of options in one field or another.

What I learned over the years was that it is a very, very, very rare situation where they actually needed (or actually used) that level of detail.   What i often found was that the reports they thought would be keyed off this information really weren't used.  Or, the reports weren't useful useful because it was too much of a pain for the technicians to figure out which one of the 400 options was the right one to use and they ended up just picking whatever seemed closest just to save time. 

In those cases, I would challenge the person making the requirement by asking:

• Can you show me the the reports you currently generate using these options
          • How do you actually use the reports.
          • What actions/decisions are really driven by the report