4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2019 2:49 PM by Vern Meyer

Create or update subtask to master, when a specific subtask is updated?

Andrew Grayson
      Share This:

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to being an administrator of FootPrints, and I'm having a little trouble trying to figure out how to successfully do a specific task via a business rule.

In one of our workspace items, we use a workflow to generate business rules at certain stages. Once the workspace item reaches the "Approved" state, the workspace generates multiple subtasks to multiple teams/assignment groups, via Business Rules and Quick Templates. One of the subtasks (we'll call it subtask "B"), however, needs to either not exist, or exist in "On Hold" status, until a specific subtask (let's call it subtask "A") to the same master item is changed to a "Completed" status. Here are a couple ways I was looking to approach this:

1. Master Item reaches "Approved" state, and subtask A and B get generated, but subtask B is set to the "On Hold" status. Once the status of subtask A is set to the "Completed" status, THEN subtask B's status is changed to "Unacknowledged" status with an update to Subtask B's Description field.

2. Master Item reaches "Approved" state, and only subtask A gets immediately generated. Once the status of subtask A is set to the "Completed" status, THEN subtask B is created.