13 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2019 11:13 AM by Lonnie Murray

Retrieve menu Items from C API?

Lonnie Murray
      Share:|

I'm new to the C API and I'm struggling to figure out how to get the ARGetCharMenu and  ARExpandCharMenu function.   I keep getting "Access violation writing location".

I feel like maybe I'm sending the data to the function in the wrong way, or declaring my variables incorrectly? 

I'm new to programming in C++ so the obscurity of the error messages is kind of frustrating.  Here's what I'm passing in...

ARCharMenuStruct menuDef;

char *nameR = "SC:Cabling";

ARGetCharMenu(&c, nameR, 0, menuDef, NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL);

Is there a code example of retrieving a simple character menu list out there? 

• 1. Re: Retrieve menu Items from C API?
          Misi Mladoniczky

Hi,

This depends on the menuType.

If it is a simple AR_CHAR_MENU_LIST the items would be included in the definition.

For the others you might use ARExpandCharMenu as a second call, I think, to search for the data and return a new ARCharMenuStruct which is always of the type AR_CHAR_MENU_LIST.

Then you traverse the tree in menuExpandedDef.u.menuList...

How to traverse this should be deducible from reading the ar.h file. This file is the one I read manually the most when doing the AR C API.

The other one is to read the API documentation for the function you want to use. It is pretty good. ARExpandCharMenu - Documentation for Remedy Action Request System 18.05 - BMC Documentation

Best Regards - Misi, RRR AB, http://rrr.se

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Retrieve menu Items from C API?
            Lonnie Murray