3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2019 2:26 AM by Mark Francome

Postgres Tuning

Haw Kor

Hi All,

I've been using Control-m for almost 4 years now.  We've always used the Postgres that's come with the BMC install.  Has anyone taken to tuning this instance of Postgres in terms of resource consumption?

Thanks,

Haw

• 1. Re: Postgres Tuning
          Mark Francome

The only tuning I have ever done is to answer the question during the installation (i.e. are you a small/medium/large site?).

The supplied Postgres really tends to look after itself, I would only change some settings if I had specific issues (and then refer the changes to BMC first).

• 2. Re: Postgres Tuning
            Haw Kor

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your feedback.  I'm actually looking more at memory utilization of the postgres server.  With Control-M V9 the included version is postgres 9.2. I think by default a large installation will set the following options in postgres.conf:

# - Memory -

shared_buffers = 2000MB #@shared_buffers@ # (S,M,L)=(60MB,120MB,200MB)

temp_buffers = 250MB #@temp_buffers@ # (S,M,L)=(20MB,40MB,60MB)

# - Settings -

fsync = off

other options such as

work_mem

effective_cachesize

effective_io_concurrency

are set to default values which probably don't take advantage of a larger configuration server.

With a fresh install of 9.0.18, it appears that the Postgres version is now upgraded to 9.5, which will try to take advantage of huge pages in Linux, however I wasn't able to find much information regarding huge pages in BMC doc so I was wondering if anyone in the community actually started tweaking these settings.

Below are some of the articles which turned up for Postgres performance tuning which I've used as a starting point:

https://blog.dbi-services.com/configuring-huge-pages-for-your-postgresql-instance-redhatcentos-version/

Architecture and Tuning of Memory in PostgreSQL Databases | Severalnines

Tune Linux Kernel Parameters For PostgreSQL Optimization

Thanks,

Haw