7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2018 2:51 PM by Cris Coffey

Change Management

Patricia Butcheck

I am brand new to the Change Management CM feature available in TrackIt 11.4. I think I understand the concept, but in practice I'm failing to find practical application. If I may tap into more experienced Admins, I'd like to see if my concepts are sounds, and how the tool can be best implemented for a QC project our team is trying to develop.

My understanding of the CM concept: If someone asks to change something - the request is submitted to an authority for approval.  Approving, allows the process to be green-lit and to proceed.  Rejecting, denies it. Logs are kept to track this activity / approval, etc.

My team's TrackIt request:  Use CM as a form of QC on particular (but frequent) complex procedures.  We want certain categories to trigger a 'review' process.  We are OK having the same tech check their teammates work and catch commons human mistakes.  So, if Tech A receives an XYZ request, it triggers a Change Mngt Policy that escalates to three techs (including original tech).  We would like to have the CM review team (consisting of Techs A, B, and C) review the request - QC the details - and approve/improve the procedures related to the original XYZ request.  The goal is to have the team check each other's work and sign off on it.

Escalations / Oversight Question

1. First problem: it seems that original Tech can prevent the CM Policy from being applied to ticket
      2. Second problem: It see the original Tech assigned to ticket - and who is also part of the Authorization/Approval list - is able to Authorize their own CM Policy
      3. If Tech A can over-ride the CM procedures and neutralize the CM application per ticket, is there a way to prevent this?
      4. We added Tech A, B & C to the CM Policy as Approver.  We set the policy type to Simultaneous.