8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2017 1:17 PM by Matthew Coyne

Not able to create a SMART Application in Innovation Studio

Matthew Coyne
      Share This:

Hi,

I am new to Innovation Studio.  I have requested a sandbox and have logged in.  I am trying to create a SMART Application, but I am not able to.  I am reading the tutorials, but not able to add libraries or develop an application.  What am I missing?

• 2. Re: Not able to create a SMART Application in Innovation Studio
          Matthew Coyne

Do I follow these steps even when I have requested a Sandbox environment from BMC for Innovation Studio?  They have provided one to me, but I am not able to create new applications.

• 3. Re: Not able to create a SMART Application in Innovation Studio
            Jason Miller

Yes, we don't have console access to the sandboxes. All we have access to are Innovation Suite web UI, the associated Innovation Suite API and Mid Tier. You will need to setup the "development environment" on the machine you are using to access to hosted instance. I know this sounds kind of confusing, needing to setup a development environment to access your sandbox development environment.

At this time there is not a push button way to create a new app from the Innovation Suite UI itself (like a create app wizard). I think there has been talk of this but until then you actually start an application on your local machine and using the API the application is created remotely in your hosted sandbox.

HTH,

Jason

• 4. Re: Not able to create a SMART Application in Innovation Studio
              Harveensingh Oberoi

Jason , is right . As of now there is no way to push the application directly without a local development environment .

However once you have the development environment ready , you can use Maven to deploy your application remotely on the sandbox. Maven uses a POM file wherein we can specify the URL and and port of the Sandbox wherein the Smart application can be deployed.