7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2017 4:34 PM by Peter Lundqvist

Apache Access

Peter Lundqvist

Hi people,

As of yesterday I started using IT Data Analytics so I am very new to this product

It was really easy to set up - I am impressed!

So I've set up a collector of Apache Access logs from a tomcat server and it is collecting logs just fine.

Now I wanted to search it, in perticular I wanted to search for Response codes and I was kind of under the impression that the Pattern (Appache Access) would help with this as the Pirmary Pattern described contains a field representation of it (num1, strange name - but so what).

I have tried to search for this field, but I can't get it to work in any other way except for doing a text search of the code itself. E.g.: " 200 " (note the spaces).

I feel that I am missing something obvious here. Is the pattern not matching correctly maybe?

• 1. Re: Apache Access
          Peter Lundqvist

I verified that the grok pattern worked in grok constructor (also noticed that there actually is a variant with response). So the logs do match the pattern.

• 2. Re: Apache Access
            Scott Bleasdell

Peter Lundqvist, you should be able to search on that value with, for example, a search that looks like this:

COLLECTOR_NAME="whatever you named your data collector" && num1=200

You should not need quotes around it, and certainly not spaces.  You can also use > and < signs, etc.  Here is the doc that has all those details: Search string syntax - BMC TrueSight IT Data Analytics 2.5 - BMC Documentation

Let me know if you are not seeing this work as expected.

• 3. Re: Apache Access
              Peter Lundqvist

Yes,  I've read that but it does not seem to work, I've tried both with the fields named num1 and response.

If I look at the collected logs, these fields do not show up. I only get the COLLECTOR_NAME and HOST fields:

This is what made me investigate if the pattern matched the logs in the first place.