5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2016 3:02 PM by Fred Novakov

MainView Suite Upgrade for z/OS

Chris Forzaglia

I'm a Systems Programmer tasked with upgrading an old install of the following MainView Products...

MAINVIEW FOR Z/OS               

MAINVIEW FOR UNIX SYSTEM SERVICES  

CMF MONITOR                                           

MAINVIEW FOR CICS       

MAINVIEW AUTOOPERATOR FOR CICS                    

MAINVIEW AUTOOPERATOR FOR Z/OS                 

FOCAL POINT

MAINVIEW FOR LINUX SERVERS      

MAINVIEW BATCH/JOB OPTIMIZER (+PIPES)

MAINVIEW TOTAL OBJECT MONITOR (TOM)

I'm a bit intimidated by the project and was wondering if anyone has any insights or suggestions on the approach.  Is there a way to do this in chunks?  Any White Papers or something that lists best practices for something like this?

• 1. Re: MainView Suite Upgrade for z/OS
          Fred Novakov

Hi Chris,

I can understand the intimidation factor.    First place to start is with the BMC quick courses.   http://www.bmc.com/support/mainframe-demonstrations/

Look under "I" for installation.    And start with the Installation System Overview.

Where are you located geographically?    Because the next resource is a BMC Software Consultant, like myself.

I can have someone reach out to you to guide you through the install.

Regards,

Fred.

• 2. Re: MainView Suite Upgrade for z/OS
            Chris Forzaglia

Thanks Fred. I will have to take a look at this link and see if I can get my arms around this a bit.  I am in Raleigh, NC, USA.  If I can't figure this out I just might need to see about getting some help, although that wouldn't look good for me since I was hired to do such a thing.

• 3. Re: MainView Suite Upgrade for z/OS
              Fred Novakov

Chris,

I won't tell anybody if you don't.   

The key is not knowing everything .. it's knowing where to find out about everything.