7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2016 2:33 AM by Liran Tevet

REST Client Recording

Liran Tevet

Hi everyone,

I"ve been asked to monitor a REST Client user experience using BMC TMART (we're running version 4.2).

The REST request need to be verified using a certificate I've been given.

Does anyone knows if is even possible to record REST Client with certificate authentication using TMART?
      If so any advice will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
      Liran.

• 1. Re: REST Client Recording
          Hal DeVore

I'm not an expert in this area but I do recall a couple of BMC customers who very successfully used the SoapUI tool to record transactions for TM ART.

As I recall, you just create an Application Profile for the SoapUI program.  Select that instead of the Internet Explorer or Firefox profiles when you record.  From there it just all worked.  As with the browser, the SoapUI tool was not needed at playback time.

--Hal

• 2. Re: REST Client Recording
            Liran Tevet

Thanks Hal I'll sure check you solution and update once I'll reach a conclusion

• 3. Re: REST Client Recording
              Liran Tevet

Hi,

I've tried what you've suggested. Download Soap UI client, installed it, configured it under Application Profile with Protocol Profile defined as Web but when I tried to record a simple GET function, the functions counter was 0 all the time.

Is there any kind of special configuration I should do in order for Workbench to successfully record the Soap UI client?

Thanks

Liran.

• 4. Re: REST Client Recording
                Sachin Tewari

Hi Liran Tevet,

When the application type is unsupported & not defined explicitly in Workbench, I normally look into options such as interacting with API's using command line interface. Then, use ProcessInitialize() to write to a log file and read it.