9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 22, 2015 11:53 AM by Laurent Matheo

AR System Database maintaince and Index Fragmentation > 99%

Tony Reel
      Share:|

Hi Guys,

We have a 8.1 ITSM instance of remedy running on Win 2008 and SQL 2008 R2 been running for about 3 years now (we upgraded from 7.6).  2 servers in server group, a 3rd admin server and 2 mid tiers. There are a small number of customisations made to ITSM and a few small custom apps.

I have been having a few performance issues recently and have suspicions our DB is not as happy as it should be.  I have little knowledge of DBs and unfortunately cannot get a DBA resource for another month or two.

I setup some monitoring on the database and it is showing that there are a fair amount of indexes that are 99% fragmented. Not having a DB background I have naively hoped that AR System would magically maintain the DB itself but I think its time I gave it some love and I am hoping I can get some help from some of the knowledgeable people on the forums (shameless brown nosing).

I did some reading and some older posts suggest performing a Reindex is necessary to resolve the fragmentation - (Select the Reindex checkbox on the FTS tab of Server information).   It looks like this can take some time but I am not sure if this means hours or days and what impact that is likely to have.

Is this re-indexing something other people perform regularly?

Is it as simple as selecting the check box?

Are there any general docs / procedures / check lists that I can use for DB maintenance?

Thanks

Mr T

• 1. Re: AR System Database maintaince and Index Fragmentation > 99%
          Mark Walters

I don't know enough about SQL to advise on the best approach but I can tell you that the FTS Reindex option is not relevant.  The FTS indexes are independent of the database - they're stored in local files as FTS is a separate process, outside of the database.