14 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2020 3:21 PM by Woo Lam

Credentials for MS SQL

Share This:

Hi all!

I'm just getting started with discovering of MS SQL databases. I have uploaded database driver and have added the credentials. However, when I test it failes.

ADDM gives this error message:

SQL Provider: Unable to open a connection to the database: login failed for user 'xxxxxxx'. ClientConnectionId:0c6713d9-efaa-46b9-aafe-8261521ac5da

The error message the database group find in their log is as follows:

"Login failed for user xxxxxx. Reason: Attempting to use an NT account name with SQL Server Authentication".

The database group can make a special user for me, but then they have to add it on all the servers and maintain it, so it is quite a lot of work.

Is there another way to solve this problem? I am open for advice :-)

I'm on version 10.0.0.2 and TKU 2015-09-1

BR

Inger Kristine

• 1. Re: Credentials for MS SQL
          Andrew Waters

This has told you exactly what the problem is.

SQL Server, by default, has its own accounts. You are trying to use a Windows account to authenticate. Either the SQL server needs to be configured to accept Windows accounts or you need to use the appropriate SQL Server account.

• 2. Re: Credentials for MS SQL
            Michael Hoover

Andrew is correct, the DBAs would need to configure their SQL servers to use LDAP, Active Directory, or whatever authentication method you use and get a group setup in those respective CSO servers.  Or they would have to do the manual effort of giving you a special account and setting it up across all servers.

• 3. Re: Credentials for MS SQL

Thank you, Mike and Andrew!

Then I know what to do.

• 4. Re: Credentials for MS SQL

Hi again,

The DB Group have a question for you...

They are asking how ADDM can log on to SQL server when this functionality is added and is perferred from a safety veiew.

image001.png

I'm thankful for all advice.

BR,
                Inger Kristine