5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2015 1:03 PM by Don Kim

Create, audit directory

Sae Park

I work in BSA 8.5

I need to create a directory, say /blah/blah with specific ownership and permission set across multiple servers.

Once the directory is created, I need on going audit of specified directory to ensure the directory is still there and neither ownership or permission changes.

What would be the best way to go about it?

I initially thought about component with auto remediation, but I'm not having much luck.

Please keep in mind, I'm still fairly new to BL, so a lot of times, I don't know what I'm doing.

Some step by steps would be very much appreciated.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Create, audit directory
          Rajeev Gupta

If you have the templates created, assign tot he group/servers you want to assign to by 'adding permissions'.

You can fetch the details by blcli showPermissions to check if the template/ACL's remain same.

• 2. Re: Create, audit directory
            Bill Robinson

there's a few different ways to do it...

you could do a simple nsh job that would create the dir and set the perms, then a compliance job to check on it.  or an audit job that compares to a system that's setup correctly and then you do a 'sync w/ master' to fix up any targets that deviate.

• 3. Re: Create, audit directory
              Sae Park

Thanks for the inputs.

I tried to create a component, but wasn't working out for me, so I ended up deleting it.

Do I have to create a directory first before I can setup an audit job?

Is there any way I can audit create the directory if it's not there?

I'm just wondering if there's any way I can create 1 thing and use it to deploy & audit.

• 4. Re: Create, audit directory
                Bill Robinson

On one server create the directory how you want.