1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 27, 2014 10:17 PM by Sean Berry

Education and Collaboration

Jeff Turner

When teaching classes, I'm often asked, "How would you do 'this'?" (where 'this' is a work situation that the student attending the class has to resolve using the tool that they're currently learning).

I was teaching a BMC Server Automation (aka Bladelogic, BSA) Administration Part 2 course to a number of students in Australia. When we got to the portion of the course in which we discuss the various BSA Deployment jobs that are available, two of the students became animated when I discussed the use of NSH Script jobs and BlPackage Deploy jobs to perform tasks on Windows platforms.

As their site is predominantly Windows-based, they wanted to see an example of a PowerShell command that could be used to set the appropriate DNS server details on a per-host basis.

My background is very firmly rooted in UNIX (and Linux) so my knowledge of PowerShell is limited. However, the principle behind the required action is something that I am familiar with.

So, rather than spend time just doing the lab exercises provided in the course, I decided to add this particular task as a challenge to the students.

The whole class, of 6 students, participated fully in a lively debate about the best method to use, the actual script structure and the potential issues that they would face (such as how to determine how many network interfaces required setting, how to identify the correct network interface to assign the DNS settings to and so forth).

As their situation was highly relevant to their work situation, this session helped me to introduce ideas regarding how BSA jobs function, the job execution strategies that were open to them, how to handle NSH scripting and use NSH Script jobs and much more.