Users shouldnt see any actual change requests in that scenario unless you have made them approvers for a change management policy.There is a way to hide the solutions module in self service, but I am not sure about the search button, whether that hides or not. Try this solution here.
The answer above about suppressing solutions will help.
But my main issue is that users can connect to the self service portal even though access for them should be disabled. We need the website and URL up and running for testing, so we can't just disable it.
It just seems odd that in trackit you can edit a user and disable thier self service access, and yet they can still connect to it and see some functionality.
This was done on purpose so you wouldnt have to purchase licenses for people who are part of a change management approval process that dont require access to Track-It!
If the user has no self service access, they will not be able to access anything of value. Hide the link from them until you are ready to go live.
Even if they stumble upon, bookmark or memorize the URL from seeing it for a moment, without self service access, all they will be able to see is an empty change management screen. They will not be able to see or access anything else.