What I have seen with our setup is that when information is updated or added, those chages are reflected in Track-it! but when users are deleted or their information deleted, those changes are not reflected in Track-it! I don't know if this is by design but it is something we have addresses by modifying our processes internally to manually ensure Track-it is up-to-date.
That behavior is actually by design. Track-It! will not delete users from the system if they are deleted from AD but it will remove a self service license from that user so that the account is no longer taking up a license. It is also common practice in many organizations, to disable AD accounts rather than delete them.
Passwords in AD are encrypted and cannot be imported. We import the user ID and it is mapped by default and will be imported on a standard import but the password field is something you set in Track-It! as your Track-It! password.
If you schedule the directory importer to run on an interval, then it will update on that interval.
Thanks for your reply.
>>Passwords in AD are encrypted and cannot be imported.
Thats not a problem, I'm not looking for the password.
>> If you schedule the directory importer to run on an interval, then it will update on that interval.
Great, I think thats what I'm looking for.
I reviewed my config for importing AD info.
I had "Run the import process once a day at this time" selected and it was set for 12:00am. According to the log it wasn't running daily at 12:00am.
I tried "import now" and that worked.
I have now changed it to run at 6:30am, to see if it has some weird aversion to running at midnight. I'll let you know tommorrow if it has worked as expected.
Thanks for your help and suggestions.