MyIT cache issue - Changes made in resources-locale_en.json file is not taking effect

Version 2
    Share This:

    This document contains official content from the BMC Software Knowledge Base. It is automatically updated when the knowledge article is modified.


    PRODUCT:

    MyIT Digital Workplace


    COMPONENT:

    MyIT


    APPLIES TO:

    BM MyIT



    PROBLEM:

    We are running on MyIT 3.2 version and the issue we have is we have modified the resources-locale_en.json file present under below location to rename some tabs however the changes are not taking effect.

    C:\Program Files\BMC Software\Smart_IT_MyIT\Smart_IT_MyIT\ux\current\myitapp\scripts\app\i18n

    After making the changes we tried to restart all services and flush the browser cache however the changes are not taking effect. Is there any cache issue?


     


    CAUSE:

    myitOptIn" in DB was set to false in "[SmartIT].[SmartIT_Business].[CONFIGURATION_PARAMS]


    SOLUTION:

    It was identified the value for "myitOptIn" in DB was set to false in "[SmartIT].[SmartIT_Business].[CONFIGURATION_PARAMS]" table.

    This myitOptIn is available from the 3.2 version.

    User-added image

    If this is set to false then the resource.json file is read from previous folder location and not current.

    So the changes should be modified in resources-locale_en.json present under below location,
    C:\Program Files\BMC Software\Smart_IT_MyIT\Smart_IT_MyIT\ux\previous\myitapp\scripts\app\i18n

    and not under location,
    C:\Program Files\BMC Software\Smart_IT_MyIT\Smart_IT_MyIT\ux\current\myitapp\scripts\app\i18n

    As the value is DB is set to false.
    If the value in DB for myitOptIn the set to true then it reads this file from current location.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     

    myitOptIn option relates only to using current or previous folders.

      

    The content of this folder may be different, however for fresh install both folders are same.

      

    In case of upgrade, the current folder contains new UC files and the previous folder contains pre-upgraded UC files.

      

    myitOptIn(true/false) option allows you to decide the use of new UC interface (installed version) or old UC interface (pre-upgraded).

    If you have myitOptIn option set to true then you need to modify files in current folder, if false – in previous.

      

    .

      
      

     


    Article Number:

    000117223


    Article Type:

    Solutions to a Product Problem



      Looking for additional information?    Search BMC Support  or  Browse Knowledge Articles