In MainView Explorer, if you modify the column configuration of a view in a container, even when the configuration is saved, the modified column configuration is not retained. How to save it?

Version 2
    Share This:

    This document contains official content from the BMC Software Knowledge Base. It is automatically updated when the knowledge article is modified.


    PRODUCT:

    MainView Infrastructure


    APPLIES TO:

    MainView Infrastructure



    QUESTION:

    In MainView Explorer, if you modify the column configuration of a view in a container, even when the configuration is saved, the modified column configuration is not retained. How to save it?

    MainView Infrastructure 6.1


    ANSWER:

     

    Legacy ID:KA412911

      

    There is a difference between configurations and view customization in MainView Explorer.

      

    View customization is used to set general specifications about the view, which fields are requested for the query (including those exclude from view), position and formatting of the columns, permanent filters in the WHERE clause and field filter conditions, default sort order, hyperlinks, thresholds, default chart type, and fields used for charting.

      

    A configuration is used for a collection of views, and for each view the specific invocation, such as the desired target context, temporary override of default filters and sort order, whether the view is auto-refreshing or not, within a container or not, has a open auxiliary chart open or not, etc. It also specifies all chart characteristics, overriding any default chart specification in the view definition.

      

    As a general rule when a configuration is saved, it will include any settings on the property pages: Filters, Context, Refresh, Time, Where, and now also Chart, and Items.

      

    When a customized view is saved, it will include any changes you made by right-clicking on any column header and selecting any of the customization menu items, such as Edit thresholds, hyperlinks, or thresholds, or Add to sort, group by, or chart items. In addition if you have opened a chart and changed the chart type, that too will be saved.

      

    Therefore to specifically answer the question, if you move a column to another position (or change the formatting of the column or change the thresholds or hyperlinks, etc.), that must be saved as a customized view (generally giving it a new name). Then when you save the configuration, it will save a reference to the new customized view.

      
    Related Products:  
       
    1. MainView Infrastructure

     


    Article Number:

    000028158


    Article Type:

    FAQ/Procedural



      Looking for additional information?    Search BMC Support  or  Browse Knowledge Articles