Client Management: Troubleshooting - Devices disappear from the console

Version 1
    Share This:

    This document contains official content from the BMC Software Knowledge Base. It is automatically updated when the knowledge article is modified.


    PRODUCT:

    BMC Client Management


    COMPONENT:

    Client Management


    APPLIES TO:

    Any version of BMC Client Management (BCM)



    PROBLEM:

    Some of my devices appear then disappear from the console, then reappear again etc


    CAUSE:

    It is more likely a GUID issue: you probably deploy agents within an OS image which contains an agent that had already generated its unique identifier (GUID) As a result all the devices you deploy using this image have the same GUID.


    SOLUTION:

     

    There is no built-in mechanisms to delete agents from the console (apart from setting up an Operational Rule (OR) with the step "Device Clean-up", see below). When a device keeps appearing then disappearing it is usually do the fact that several devices share the same unique identifier, the GloballyUniqueID (GUID).

    Before going any further, please read the following Knowledge Article (KA) to learn about the unique identifiers in BCM: Client Management: How is the GUID / GloballyUniqueID managed in BCM? How do we merge GUIDs?

    1- The OS image was captured with a BCM agent that has an existing GUID:
    Scenario:

      
       
    1. Device20 is deployed using the image that contains an agent with a GUID already set: GUID1
    2.  
    3. Device20 uploads an identity containing GUID1 and is therefore integrated to the DataBase (DB) with GUID1 and its own device name, ip address, mac address etc
    4.  
    5. Device21 is deployed with the same image, including GUID1
    6.  
    7. Device21 uploads an identity containing GUID1: the master compares the GUID with the GUIDs already in the DB, and finds out there's already a GUID1 so it replaces the information from Device20 in the DB with the information uploaded by Device21 (device name, ip address, mac address etc). As a consequence, Device20 seems to have disappeared.
    8.  
    9. Device22 uploads an identity containing GUID1 so it replaces Device21 in the DB etc
    10.  
    11. Device20 uploads a new identity, still containing GUID, so it replaces Device22 in the DB etc
      
      This works as designed. Devices should never share a GUID.  
     
    Solutions:  
      
      
      A- Clean GUID= in the OS image 
      
      1- Edit the OS image that is being deployed with this GUID and: 
      
      2- Edit the file ../client/config/identity.ini and clean the value of these settings: 
      

    - "GUID="
    - [Only for versions < 12.6] "GUIDScheme="

      

    B- Clean it manually on the agents

      

    1- Stop the service of the agent (check that there's no setting that'll restart the service while you'll go through the next steps)
    2- Go to the BCM agent install folder
    3- Edit the file ../client/config/identity.ini and clean the value of these settings:

      

    - "GUID="
    - [Only for versions < 12.6] "GUIDScheme="

      

    4- Restart the service of the BCM agent

      

    C- Set the GUID in the GUID Blacklist

      
      - Identify the GUIDs to blacklist: More information in this KA:    Client Management: How to find devices having the same GloballyUniqueID / GUID and to blacklist them 
    - Go to Global Settings > System Variables > Connection Management 
      
      - Set this GUID in the field "List of banned GUIDs" 
      

    When a device with a GUID that is in this black list will upload a new identity to the master, the device will get the order to regenerate its GUID automatically and will then come up with the right GUID into the console.

      



    Note:
    When capturing a device using a sysprep project with BCM, the GUID is cleared automatically by the RunSysprep.bat script that is executed at the begining of the sysprep capture process.


    2- DNS Issue:
    Because of a name resolution issue an existing device name could be renamed to another device name. Also, when the DNS resolution issue is fixed it is possible that the device isn't renamed to its original name because it's currently being used by another one. This can be spot easily by comparing the device name of a device to its netbios name. 

    Scenario:

      
       
    1. "Device1" is stored in the DB as "Device1"
    2.  
    3. The DNS stops working well and Device1 becomes Device20 which didn't exist in the DB at that time
    4.  
    5. "Device20" is installed and uploads an identity but it isn't integrated as a device falsely called Device20 already exists in the DB
      

    etc

    Solution:

      
       
    1. Fix the DNS issue
    2.  
    3. (temporarily) Set "Allow duplicate device names" in Global Settings > System Variables > Connection Management
      

    Note:
    It could also be possible to rename the device names through queries, e.g:

      

    Update Devices Set DeviceName='DeviceTemp1' where DeviceName='Devicexx';
    Update Devices Set DeviceName='Devicexx' where DeviceName='Deviceyy;
    Update Devices Set DeviceName='Deviceyy' where DeviceName='DeviceTemp1';

      

    But this would be complicated to do at a wide scale, and support doesn't have a query to share for that.

      



    3- PEBCAK :
    Someone actually deleted it manually. This will be logged in the master ../master/log/mtxagent_audit.log*, e.g:

      

    2016/06/10 15:28:24 Vision64Database                 A   [24768]  admin1 - 10.5.158.196 - Destroyed object 'Device-03' of type 'Device' and topology type 'Client'

      

    The log shows who deleted it and from which ip address it was done.


    4- Automatic deletion by OR:
    The step "Device Clean-up" can be used to automatically delete devices that are members of specific device groups on a schedule. An OR containing this step might be assigned to the wrong dynamic device group(s) and delete devices that should not. More information on this step and its usage on the following KA: Client Management: How to automatically delete devices that are not anymore member of any device group synchronized from the AD.

    Scenario:
    A device uploads its identity

      
       
    1. The OR runs and deletes it from the console
    2.  
    3. The device uploads a new identify and therefore appears in the console again
    4.  
    5. The OR deletes it again, then the device uploads a new identity etc
      


    Solution:
    Double check if the query populating the device group is correct (or check it with the admin that populates the device group manually).

     


    Article Number:

    000125419


    Article Type:

    Solutions to a Product Problem



      Looking for additional information?    Search BMC Support  or  Browse Knowledge Articles