Last year we significantly upgraded the knowledge base functionality available from BMC Support Central. The new system is faster, more flexible in search options, and includes content from BMC Communities. As a result of that upgrade we wanted to let you know that links to knowledge articles on the old search system will no longer work after this month. This post lets you know what is new and different about sharing knowledge articles on BMC Communities, and how to access knowledge articles when the old link gives a 404 error.
What’s the same?
- You can copy the URL when viewing a knowledge article, bookmark it and share it
- Most knowledge available to customers is available to public now. We made this change to share knowledge more broadly and soon, allow the knowledge to appear in Google searches as well. If you are not logged in to Support Central / BMC Communities when you click an article, you will be logged in as “BMC Customer Support Site Guest User”
- You can also save and share your searches – not just the knowledge articles - by bookmarking or sharing the URL after you perform the search. The parameters you searched are stored in the URL after http://www.bmc.com/support/support-search.html .
For example, if you search for upgrade for the product BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite – the URL is:
- The article number is different, but the old number is included as a Legacy ID so you can search on the KA number and find It in the new system
- The format of the URL is different, for example, it may look like this:
Finding knowledge using the legacy KA ID
Links to knowledge articles in the old system using this format:
will no longer work when the legacy system is decommissioned soon, but you can find the same knowledge article by using the KA number at the end of the URL by searching on it, For example,
When sharing knowledge Articles via links, note:
- You can also use the format below using the new Article Number at the end of the URL:
- If the article is restricted to authenticated customers or partners, you will receive a message suggesting you login when you try to access, if you are not always logged in.