Share This:

You can make Digital Workplace and Smart IT available to your users via the Universal Client (desktop web browser) and mobile applications. There are three different methods available to make these mobile applications available to end users:

 

  1. Place the application in your enterprise app store.
  2. Push the application through your mobile device management (MDM) platform, using your preferred tool.
  3. Make the mobile applications available through a download URL.

    BMC Operations provides, after activation, the URLs that can be used to install these apps on Android and iOS devices. Be aware that if you use this method, as the apps are downloaded outside the official stores (Apple App Store and Google Play Store), users must establish trust before being able to use them:
    • iOS.
      When a user first open an app that hasn’t be installed from Apple App Store, it gets a notification that the developer of the app isn’t trust on the device. In our case, the expected message is: “Untrusted Enterprise Developer. iPhone Distribution: BMC Software, Inc. has not been trusted on this iPhone. Until this developer has been trusted, their enterprise apps will not be available for use”. Apple force this prompt to appear because the application that is being installed hasn't gone through the App Store review process so is technically untrusted. After dismissing the message, the user should establish trust for BMC Software, Inc. following the instructions in this Apple Knowledge Article: Install custom enterprise apps on iOS
    • Android
      Out of the box, an Android device only allows you to install apps from Google Play Store. Android protects users from inadvertently installing apps from other sources by blocking the installation process and displaying the following notification “For security, your phone is set to block installation of apps obtained from unknown sources”. In order to install a BMC app distributed through a URL, the user has to opt in to “Unknown Sources” in Settings > Security on their device. Once the app installation is completed, the user can disable this setting again.

Additional information
Please, review DWP & SmartIT information on the product documentation